UHQT has three studio locations. All the studios are integral components of the UHQT and production of quilts panels. Direct links are highlighted in red.
Anderson Arts Center
110 Federal Street, Anderson
Painting studio located in the Old Carnegie Library Basement
Hours: Fridays 9:30 – Noon
Contact:Diane Schonauer, email@example.com,864-231-9317
150 Schoolhouse Road, Westminster, former Oakway Intermediate School
Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 9:30 – Noon
Contact: Chris Troy, firstname.lastname@example.org, 864-985-1096
Holly Springs Center
120 Holly Springs School Road, Pickens, Room #110
Hours: Thursday and First and Third Saturdays 10:00 -2:00.Check Face Book page for update on times. Holly Springs Center Quilt Painting Group
Contact: Cindy Blair, email@example.com, 864-973-3921
Visit our Face Book page for production updates and news.
Appeared in The Country Registers in FL, NC/SC May/June 2017 issues
Take in the Wonders of Upstate South Carolina and the Celebration of Quilts Show
By Victoria Hurst
Celebration of Quilts and Quilt Trail Tours a full solar eclipse and beautiful lakes and waterfalls! This will be a perfect weekend to see the sites in Anderson and the Upstate of South Carolina. Join us in Upstate South Carolina August 18-21, 2017 for a weekend of fun! August 18 & 19 is the Celebration of Quilts and Quilt Trail Tours! August 21 experience a full solar eclipse. The path will pass directly over the Upstate.
Anderson, South Carolina is the quintessential small southern town. With its quaint historic district, renowned colleges and universities, and proximity to natural wonders, Anderson is a place with a bright future and strong traditions. The Electric City Quilters and the Prickly Fingers Quilt Guild, who are hosting the Celebration of Quilts, are two groups that work to not only share and preserve this rich regional history but also to help others in the community. They partake in several philanthropic efforts, including Quilts of Valor, which supplies patriotic quilts to Veterans, and Project Linus, which last year donated over 500 handmade blankets to children in need. These projects are just two examples of the many ways that these groups are upholding one of the strongest traditions in this community: caring for your neighbors.
A new feature to the 2017 Celebration of Quilts are a guided tours of hand-painted quilts on several sites throughout the Anderson area. The Upstate Heritage Quilt Trail will be offering guided van tours in the morning and afternoon on Friday and Saturday. Tours leave and return from the Quilt Show venue, and each tour provides a different experience. You can enjoy visiting historic downtown Anderson, visiting historic Boxwood Manor, browsing through the current exhibit and artists’ shop at the Anderson Arts Center, or just sitting back admiring the scenes of the city, seeing several works of art along the way. Registration for the tours need to be made by July 28th. Registration and complete tour details are available under the Events Tab at www.uhqt.org
The Celebration of Quilts is an excellent occasion to explore the Anderson area. The weekend will be the perfect time to take in the wonders of Upstate South Carolina, whether indulging in its cultural heritage or its natural wonders: hiking trails, waterfalls, and the full solar eclipse on the 21st! Come enjoy the Celebration of Quilts the history of this region by seeing the stories of its people, beautifully woven into family heirlooms and works of art. Take in the displays and shop homemade and thrift items, peruse a silent auction, and make connections with over twenty local artisans and vendors at the Anderson Sports and Entertainment Center at 3027 Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd in Anderson, SC, and join a tour of the Upstate Heritage Quilt Trail to fully immerse yourself in the stories of this region. For more information on the Celebration of Quilts, visit www.andersonscquilters.com. We’ll look forward to meeting you there!
Appeared in The Country Registers in FL, NC/SC Jan/Feb 2017 issues
Learning the History Behind Historic Locations on the Upstate Heritage Quilt Trail
By Victoria Hurst
The Upstate Heritage Quilt Trail gives locals and visitors a guide by which to seek out some of the fascinating history of this region. There is much to discover beyond just the beautiful quilt squares themselves. The locations that choose to display these historically charged artworks are often local treasures, as well. Travelers can enhance their experience of the trail by learning the significance of the sites they are visiting along the way.
One location that takes travelers back to the beginnings of our upstate counties as we know them today is the Old Pickens Presbyterian Church in Seneca. Built in 1850, this building functioned as a church and meetinghouse for early Scotch-Irish and English immigrants. The church itself was built by townspeople, using bricks made from clay that they harvested from the banks of the nearby Keowee River. It is the last remaining building from the bygone town, Pickens Court House, which was the Pickens county seat from 1828-1868. A quilt square called “Courthouse Steps” adorns an information kiosk near the church building and contains elements of the natural wonders that make this area such a special destination.
The Oconee Heritage Center (OHC) in Walhalla features the “Rocky Mountain Road” square, which serves as the logo for the UHQT, and is also a great place to gain some context for the journey. Covering a wide span of time, from Native American History to the New Deal and the rise of the textile industry in this area, travelers can glean a lot about the trail from visiting this one location. There is also a Children’s Corner, which makes this stop fun and educational for all.
About nine miles down the road on Main Street, Westminster, travelers will find a quilt square featuring a very popular design in the early 20th Century, “double wedding rings,” adorning both sides of a sign for another interesting historic landmark. The General Store Museum (curated by the OHC), was built in 1908 and operated as an important center for local commerce for the entire 20th century. It ceased store operations in the 1980s but remains as a museum to display 100 years worth of ordinary items that are now quite extraordinary to see.
Within a two block radius from the OHC in Walhalla, travelers can find a few other historic stops on the trail. Old St. John’s Meeting House, built in 1889 and moved twice in its lifetime, began as an Episcopal Church but was deconsecrated in 1957. It is now located in Kaufmann Square and serves as an event and meeting space (hence its current name). This last remaining example of Carpenter Gothic architecture in Oconee County features “Storm at Sea,” quilted by Oconee county native Alberta Ramey Bowers for her oldest son, James.
Two other stops on the trail that are in walking distance from the OHC and Old St. John’s Meeting House are The Museum of the Cherokee in South Carolina and Patriots’ Hall. The Museum of the Cherokee in South Carolina, honoring a vital part of this region’s history, displays a very special quilt square that serves as the “Oconee Flag.” Composed of Native American symbols for “water” and “land” or “mountains,” the design featured on this quilt square has been certified and approved by the Tribal Council of the Eastern Band of the Cherokee Nation as being the legitimate Native American symbol for Oconee County. Just down the street from The Museum of the Cherokee in South Carolina lies Patriots’ Hall Veterans Museum, which was built in 1933 and offers visitors a look at the rich history of American veterans, free of charge. A beautiful square, “Yellow Ribbon,” serves to honor all veterans in Oconee County and beyond.
Traveling the Upstate Heritage Quilt Trail is about more than just beautiful patterns and nostalgic pictures. It is entirely possible to just enjoy the visual delights of the trail, giving little thought to what formed the works. However, it is but a starting point to learn so much more about the rich culture and history of this region and the stories of the people who lived it. Visit our website, www.uhqt.org, for a full list of quilt trail stops, interactive maps, and suggested itineraries.
#18 has moved to Ohio
#118 has been relocated to Six Mile Town Hall, 106 S. Main Street, SC
#135 has been relocated to Cheohee Community Building, Tamassee, SC